•   yoga in mysore+91 9901760846

Foundation Course


 Beginner, Intermediate – See Asana Gallery

A building needs a very good foundation to stand long-time without any damage. Likewise a yoga practitioner has to be based on a good foundation in all the way to progress in yoga field. This foundation course is combination of beginner and intermediate Asana and other Yoga practices, provides good base to practitioner in all the layers of the body, prepares nervous system, stretches and strengthens muscular system, increases flexibility with attractive body shape, firmness in the posture and in the mind takes in to higher level of the yoga practice.


If you are unfamiliar to yoga or if you don’t have enough preparation mentally and physically you can choose beginners course. We will set the yoga programme depending upon flexibility, needs and requirements of the students. It is fully student oriented practice , gives firm base in yoga field without injury and with full of joy.


This practice needs little knowledge and preparation in yoga field. This is extended part of the beginners practice in Foundation session. The special practice schedule on each part of the body takes you to advance yoga practice.

CoursesMonday to Friday
Foundation Yoga sessions5.30am -7.00am
Theory, Philosophy10.00am-11.00am
Pranayama and Meditation6.00-7.00pm
Foundation Kriya (Detox)6.00am- 7.00am

 It is an ongoing course. Full course takes full of 4weeks with above schedule. Student also can take regular foundation yoga sessions for any length of time but at least minimum of 1week. Foundation course s very useful to learn fundamental things of yoga and yoga concepts and to understand asanas, pranayama ,meditation , etc to keep regular practice to be fit and healthy. Suitable for one who wishes to take Yoga Teachers Training Course in near Future or in order to prepare well to the any up coming Training courses

Yama (Social Descipline):

There are five

  1. AHIMSA ( non-violence)
  2. SATYA ( not to tell a lie)
  3. ASTEYA ( non-theft)
  4. BRAHMACHARYA ( non-indulgence)
  5. APARIGRAHA ( non- accumulation)

Sanskrit Explanations:

  • AHIMSA : AHIMSA PRATISHTHAYAM TAT-SAMNIDHAU VAIRA-THAGAH Abandonment of hostility in the presence of a yogi set in non-violence.
  • SATYA : SATYA-PRATISHTHAYAM KRIYA-PHALA-ASRAYATVAM Development of intuitive faculty in a yogi set in Truthfulness
  • ASTEYA : ASTEYA- PRATISHTHAYAM SARVA-RATNA-UPASTHANAM Knowledge of hidden treasure to a yogi set in Non-theft
  • BRAHMACHARYA : BRAHMACHARYA PRATISHTHAYAM VIRYA-LABHAH Gain of vigour for a yogi set in Non-indulgence
  • APARIGRAHA : APARIGRAHA – STHAIRYE JANMA – KATHAMTA – SAMOBODHAH Mystery of life resolved for one who is established in Non-possession

Niyama (individual disciplines):

Niyama are also five:

  1. SAUCHA ( purity, both external and internal)
  2. SANTHOSHA( contentment)
  3. TAPAS ( austerity)
  4. SWADHYAYA ( self- study)
  5. ISHWARA-PRANIDHANA ( surrender to the Divine)

Sanskrit explanation

  • SOUCHA OR PURITY : SAUCHAT SVANGA-JUGUPSE PARAIH – ASAMSARGAH From ( practice ) of Purity, disillusionment and detachment from gross bodies SATTVA-SUDDHI-SAUMANSYA-AIKAGRYA-INDRIYA-JAYA-ATMA-DARSANAA-YOGYATAMCHA From mental purity Sattva, cheerfulness, concentration, mastery over senses and capacity to ‘see’ the Self
  • SANTHOSHA : SANTHOSHAT-ANUTTAMAH SUKHA-LABHAH From Contentment, superlative happiness
  • TAPAS : KAYA-INDRIYA-SIDDHI-ASUDDHI-KSHAYAT TAPASAH From Austerity, destruction of impurity and perfection of body and sense organs
  • SWADHYAYA : SWADHYAYAT- ISTA-DEVATA-SAMPRAYOGAH From Self-study, union with the desired deity.
  • ISHWARA PRANIDHANA : SAMADHI-SIDHI-ISWARA-PRANIDHANAT from Surrender to the Divine accomplishment of Samadhi

Asana( Body posture):

Sthira Sukham Asanam ( Posture shold be stable and relaxed) Prayatna Saithilya Ananta Samapatibhyam ( (Relax it) by withdrawing the effort and attuning to infinity) Tath Dvandwa Ana-abhi-Gatah ( Then freedom from the pairs of opposite)

Pranayama(Science of breathing):

Tasmin sati svasa prasvasyoh gati vicchedah pranayama(II-49) After mastering posture, one must practice control of the prana(pranayama) by stopping the motions of inhalation and exhalation. The breath may be stopped externally, or internally, or checked in mid-motion, and regulated according to place, time and a fixed number of moments, so that the stoppage is either protracted or brief

  1. Two results: Tatah ksiyate prakash avarana(II-52), i.e. The inner effulgence is uncovered and
  2. Dharanasu ca yogayata manasah(II-53) i.e. The mind becomes capable of Dharana(Pre-meditative state).


(withdrawal of sense organs “Jnana Indriyas and Karma Indriyas(action organs) SWAVISHAYASAMPRAYOGE CHITHASWAROPANUKARA IVENDRIYANAM PRATYAHARAH When the mind is withdrawn from sense-objects, the sense-organs also withdraw themselves from their objects and are said to imitate the mind. This is known as pratyahara. TATAH PARAMA VASHAYATHENDRIYANAMRA Thence arises complete mastery over the senses

Dharana(intense concentration):

DESHA BANDHA CHITTASYA DHARANA Holding the ‘mind’ at one point is Dharana

Dhyana (Meditation):

TATRA PRATYAYA EKA-TANATA DHYANAM (In the state of meditation) the ‘object’ is retained continuously ( un-interrupted) ( in mind) (Un-interrupted flow of consciousness towards the object)

Samadhi (State of Superconsciousness):

TADEVA ARTHA MATRA NIRBHASAM, SWARUPA SUNYAM IVA SAMADHI (When) the same object only shines, as if(you) are not there, it is Samadhi ( In the state of samadhi only the object remains, the self is, as if, not there) This is called Triputi bhanga i.e, the merger of the Seer ( Subject), process of seeing and Seen ( Object)

  • Yama( You will learn social discipline and comfort life in the society)
  • Niyama(You will learn self discipline and enough preparation to continue yoga journey)
  • Asanas( Remove physical deformities to make body healthy and to sit with stability and comfort)
  • Pranayama( channelizing prana for connection purposes)
  • Prathyahara( withdraw sense organs to stop mind from peeping out .Before coming to Dharana we have to learn Ekagratha ( Focusing-Single Object, Multiple thoughts) to tame the randomness of mind ( chanchalatha-Multiple object, Multiple thoughts))
  • DHARANA ( Single object, Single thought with effort along with distractions )
  • DHYANA ( Single object , single thought effortlessly without distractions)
  • SAMADHI( Only the object with single thought shines-oneness-enlightenment stage)

Yoga in India| Yoga Teachers Training in India| Ashtanga vinyasa in India| Hatha Iyengar yoga| Yoga Classes| Meditation Classes | Foundation Course | Yoga Course for beginners |Best yoga school in Mysore|Low fee yoga teachers training in India| Meditation classes in mysore| Yoga classes in mysore| Beginners yoga mysore

yoga in mysore